Random Clarity

A song will play on the radio and the lyrics are such that they motivate you to act on that one thing you’ve been meaning to do for a long while, but were too lazy or afraid to do. A vision will emerge as we ride home on the train and suddenly everything comes into perspectweepingwillowive: I should have said that ad campaign is legitimately stupid for these three reasons or I do not agree with what Jules recommends we do for the simple fact that it goes against our brand. An ambiguous quote will cross our eyes:

“The lights became stars,
which became streaks
in the grayspace,
and then networks
of fading
shimmers”

And then suddenly, it all comes into place. We have that ‘A-ha’ moment and we smile as if no one is watching.

Clarity comes to us when we least expect it. I may be crying uncontrollably while trying to decide if I should re-home our dog and then the next moment everything I’ve ever wondered about a childhood fear comes back to me and I realize that Melissa Kinder was actually being mean to me when she made me go under her legs as she positioned herself to suspend from the door frame to the girl’s bathroom. Like out of nowhere, clarity, about even the most random things sets in. I wasn’t even looking for an answer, nor was I even thinking about Melissa Kinder from the 7th grade. Ugh. How did that come back into my life?

When you think about it, we have streams of consciousness when we sit back and look around us. Something will catch our eye in a room and it will transplant us to that moment when we used to play with lightning bugs as the sun was setting. And that feeling will lead us to an answer about something major in our lives. Sometimes it could be that you are reconsidering a move to rural Virginia but are struggling with what absolute hell it will be to commute back and forth to the city. But that lightning bug moment will tell you to move to the country. And you listen to your inner voice and do just that.

In a previous post, I talked about clearing our minds. In this post, I’ll take it a step further and say let’s clear our minds to find answers that are already within us. It takes a quiet moment to get to your most revealing answer. When in doubt about something, when presented with a challenge, push it to the side and trust that clarity will set it and help you through it when you are quiet.

Shhhh. Clarity is at work. Wait for it.

Leave a comment